skip to main content

Te Putanga Toi Arts Access Awards 2018

Te Putanga Toi Arts Access Awards 2018 logo

Arts Access Aotearoa has enhanced the name of its annual awards by including te reo Māori in the title to become Te Putanga Toi Arts Access Awards. Arts Access Aotearoa’s Kaumātua, the Venerable Bill Kaua ONZM, gifted it the words “Te Putanga Toi”, which means access through art.

Te reo Māori is the first voice of the land Aotearoa. It is a taonga, a gift from God. Let us all embrace it, in perpetuity,” Bill says.

“Pono ki te kaupapa – pono ki te reo. Faith in the policy – faith in the language.”

Te Putanga Toi Arts Access Awards 2018 will be presented on Wednesday 1 August in the Banquet Hall of Parliament, hosted by Hon Carmel Sepuloni, Minister for Disability Issues and Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage.

Originally called the Big ‘A’ Awards, they have been held since 2007 – always in Parliament. In 2007, there was one award presented to an Invercargill creative space, called C.S. Arts. The following year, there were three awards.

In 2014, the name of the awards was changed to Arts Access Awards to better capture what they are about.

Te Putanga Toi Arts Access Awards 2018 will present eight awards, including the Arts Access Accolade.

Award categories

The eight award categories are:

  • Arts Access PAK'nSAVE Artistic Achievement Award, recognising the outstanding achievements and contribution of a New Zealand-based artist, who has a physical, sensory or intellectual impairment, or lived experience of mental ill-health
  • Arts Access Holdsworth Creative Space Award, recognising the outstanding contribution and impact of a creative space that provides opportunities for people with limited access to make art, across any or all artforms
  • Arts Access Te Auaha Community Partnership Award, recognising a mutually beneficial partnership between two or more organisations or groups actively engaged in a community-based arts project
  • Arts Access Creative New Zealand Arts For All Award, recognising a performing arts company, festival, literary organisation, venue, producer or gallery that best demonstrates its commitment to building new audiences by becoming more accessible to disabled and Deaf people.
  • Arts Access Corrections Māui Tikitiki a Taranga Award, recognises an individual who demonstrates the qualities of Māui – innovation, creativity and leadership – in providing cultural inclusion and diversity through the arts within a New Zealand prison that provides and encourages a pathway into rehabilitation
  • Arts Access Corrections Whai Tikanga Award, recognising the outstanding contribution of a community group, organisation, Māori Focus Unit or individual working with the Department of Corrections in a prison or community setting, and using the arts as an integral part of a tikanga programme to encourage a strong cultural identity and support pro-social living.
  • Arts Access Creative New Zealand Media Award, recognising an individual who has demonstrated leadership and excellence in reporting on accessibility and the arts.
  • Arts Access Accolade, recognising an individual's outstanding support for Arts Access Aotearoa and its work in providing access to the arts. 



+ Text Size -
Original generation time 1.5664 seconds.