skip to main content

Lower North Island Network

Members of the Lower North Island Network include Corrections staff and volunteers, Community Corrections staff, prisoners, artists and writers, community art organisations, academics, and people in the wider community interested in arts and social justice.

Chris Ulutupu is the Arts in Corrections Advisor, Arts Access Aotearoa. He works Monday to Wednesday. For information, advice and opportunities, please contact Chris (T: 04 802 4349 E: chris.ulutupu@artsaccess.org.nz).

Lower North Island Network members

Hawkes Bay and Manawatu

Corrections facilities

Hawkes Bay Regional Prison

Contact: Volunteer Co-ordinator Karyn Teddy
T: 06 872 8034 E: karyn.teddy@corrections.govt.nz 

Contact: Nic Scotland, Education Tutor
Arts delivery: Read Making a difference through art
Location: Hawkes Bay
T: 06 872 8000 E: nicola.scotland@corrections.govt.nz

Manawatu Prison

Contact: Volunteer Co-ordinator Phillipa Stephens
T: 06 355 9331 E: phillipa.stephens@corrections.govt.nz 

Tongariro Prison

Contact: Volunteer Co-ordinator Karin Deed
T: 07 384 7514 E: karin.deed@corrections.govt.nz

Whanganui Prison 

Contact: Volunteer Co-ordinator Andrea Zander
T: 07 06 349 2215 extn 76715 E: andrea.zander@corrections.govt.nz

Wellington

Rimutaka Prison

Contact: Volunteer Co-ordinator Clare Sumner
T: 04 529 0878 E: clare.sumner@corrections.govt.nz 

Arohata Prison

Contact: Volunteer Co-ordinator Carol Disspain-Blowers
T: 04 529 0228 E: carol.disspain-blowers@corrections.govt.nz

Members

Contact: Jhan Lindsay - independent teacher and musician
Arts delivery: music, composition, vocal coaching, group singing, band mentoring 
Location: Based in Wellington but can travel nationwide
T: 027 405 6932 E: jhanlindsay@gmail.com
Links: Jhan Lindsay website; Facebook page; Jail house rocks, RNZ interview; Music teacher releases first album

Organisation: Liminal Pictures
Contact: Louise Pattinson
Arts delivery: independent filmmakers: documentary, short film, music video, corporate
Location: Based in Wellington but can travel anywhere
T: 022 376 5703 E: louise@liminalpictures.co.nz
Links: Website Facebook  Vimeo  Linkedin

Organisation: Voice Arts
Contact: Nicola Pauling
Location: Wellington / Lower North Island
Arts delivery: Drama/improvisation 
T: 04 973 0022 E: nicola@voice-arts.org.nz
Links: Voice Arts website

Contact: Fraser Crichton
Location: Wellington and the rest of the North Island
Arts delivery: Documentary photography, writing, video production, participatory photography and visual arts
T: 027 447 1389 E: fraser.crichton.photographer@gmail.com
Links:  website  Twitter Instagram Vimeo 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
+ Text Size -
Original generation time 2.0108 seconds.